

Congress of the United States House of Representatives

Washington, DC 20515

June 13, 2025

The Honorable Kristi Noem Secretary of Homeland Security U.S. Department of Homeland Security Washington, DC 20528

Dear Secretary Noem,

We write to express concerns following recent incidents at U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) facilities and denials of entry of U.S. Members of Congress.

On June 7, 2025, multiple Members of Congress were denied entry to the ICE facility in the Roybal Federal Building in downtown Los Angeles, California. The denials of entry were made despite explicit legal authority for congressional Members to do so and despite the peaceful and cooperative conversations Members had with Department of Homeland Security officials outside of the facilities. Denying Members of Congress access to a federal detention facility is a direct violation of federal law.

Section 527(a) of the Further Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2024 (Public Law 118-47):

"None of the funds appropriated or otherwise made available to the Department of Homeland Security by this Act may be used to prevent... a Member of Congress... from entering, for the purpose of conducting oversight, any facility operated by or for the Department of Homeland Security used to detain or otherwise house aliens..."

"Nothing in this section may be construed to require a Member of Congress to provide prior notice of the intent to enter... for the purpose of conducting oversight."

We request that your Department provide answers as to why Members of Congress were denied legal oversight facilities, and whether it is the policy of the Department of Homeland Security to withhold or delay Members from entry.

We look forward to your immediate response.

Sincerely,

J. Luis Correa
Member of Congress

Luz M Rivas

Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Tinde J. Jan

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez
Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez
Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress En Swedwell

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Onathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Sarah Elfreth
Sarah Elfreth
Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Julia Brownley
Member of Congress

Diana DeGette
Member of Congress

Paus Dollate

Pramila Jayapal
Member of Congress

Cleo Fields

Member of Congress

Andre Carson

Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr Member of Congress

tarament:

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia
Member of Congress