Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

April 30, 2025

The Honorable Donald J. Trump President The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, D.C. 20500 The Honorable Doug Burgum Secretary U.S. Department of the Interior 1849 18th Street NW Washington, D.C. 20240

Dear President Trump and Secretary Burgum,

We write to encourage you to continue to support one of our nation's most important natural and cultural resources: its National Parks.

From the Arctic to the American Samoa, from Yosemite to Yellowstone, there is nothing more American than the rugged open spaces, wild rivers, epic seascapes, and mountain majesty of the American frontier, which is cared for diligently by the National Park Service (NPS). The concept of a "national park" is an American innovation, a testament to the pioneering and free spirit of our citizens.

In 1872, President Ulysses S. Grant established Yellowstone as the world's first-ever national park, an idea that was emulated by other nations soon after. Following that, President Theodore Roosevelt, a lifelong sportsman, hunter and rancher, signed legislation establishing five new national parks. In 1916, the NPS was established to unify protections for these resources, and since then, generations of Americans from all walks of life have explored and experienced America's natural wonders.

Last year, the National Park Service reported the highest visitation in its history, at 331.9 million visits. This is nearly equal to every citizen in the nation visiting our parks once in 2024. Because our National Parks are incredibly popular, they are often overcrowded and in need of care, which is why funding, staffing, and your support are vital. The NPS creates 415,000 American jobs (both private and public), supports local rural economies, and produces \$55.6 billion in economic output, while providing enjoyment for millions of Americans.

As such, we urge you to support what makes America, America—its beautiful and famous mountains; its oceans and rivers; its wildlife and waterfalls; and its incredible citizens; the rangers, civil servants, and communities who steward our great nation.

Sahas Subramanyam Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey
Member of Congress

Jernifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

enne R. McChee

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

J**M** Tokuda Member of Congress

Nellie Pou Member of Congress James C. Moylan Member of Congress

Michael V. Lawler Member of Congress

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress



Andre Carson
Member of Congress

Jack Bergman Member of Congress

Troy A. Carter, Sr.
Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Jen A. Riggans
Member of Congress

Yassamin Ansari Member of Congress

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

Steven Horsford
Member of Congress
Nevada's Fourth
Congressional District

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

April McClain Delaney Member of Congress



Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

SIO.CLL

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi
Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Lasheda flail

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Winds J. Jany

Sarah Eleveth
Sarah Elfreth

Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly
Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Fimmy Panetta

Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

phana Hayes

Josh Gottheimer

Member of Congress

Greg Landsman Member of Congress

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Rob Bresnahan, Jr. Member of Congress

oe Ne<mark>g</mark>use

Member of Congress

Kimberlyn King-Hinds
Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Janelle S. Bynum
Member of Congress

Ed Case

Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán
Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Josh Riley

Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters

Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon

Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse

Member of Congress

Melanie A. Stansbury

Melanie Stansbury
Member of Congress

Ann Wagner

Member of Congress

Steve Cohen

Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis

Member of Congress

Maggie Goodlander Member of Congress

Jared Huffman

Member of Congress

Ranking Member, House

Natural Resources Committee

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Seth Magazine Member of Congress

Mossy Houles

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Wesley Bell Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

May 13, 2025

Sincerely,

Scott DesJarlais, M.D. Member of Congress

Evene Simon Vindman Nember of Congress

Yamie Raskin Member of Congress

Thomas H. Kean, Jr. Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress