## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

March 3, 2025

The Honorable Donald J. Trump President The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave, SW Washington, DC 20500

## Dear President Trump:

As members of the Gun Violence Prevention Task Force, we write to you with grave concerns about the elevation of Kash Patel to the position of Acting Director of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF).

As you are aware, ATF is the lead law enforcement agency responsible for addressing the gun violence epidemic in our country. At a time when gun violence is the leading cause of death for children and teenagers in the United States, it is unconscionable that someone without experience fighting crime, responding to mass shootings or confronting domestic terrorism has been named as ATF's Acting Director.

During your first Administration, gun homicides rose by 34 percent. Since the passage of the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act in June 2022, we have seen an historic reduction in gun violence, violent crime hit an almost 50-year low, and we've seen the single largest homicide rate drop in recent history. Cracking down on gun traffickers and irresponsible gun dealers, expanding background checks for 18–20-year-olds, and expanding extreme risk protection orders is saving lives. These laws are overwhelmingly supported by Americans.

ATF plays a critical role in supporting State and local law enforcement by tracing guns used in crimes, helping with criminal investigations, and providing training on a variety of topics, such as detecting machinegun conversion devices. We need to ensure that this partnership with State and local law enforcement is strengthened and not undermined by weak leadership and partisan staffing purges.

Running ATF is a deadly serious job. Naming an unqualified partisan to oversee our federal gun violence prevention laws is a disservice to the American people and offensive to every American child who has grown up fearful of gun violence in their schools and communities. We urge you to name a qualified director at ATF who will faithfully administer laws that keep Americans safe.

Sincerely,

Mile Shonpon

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell
Member of Congress

me Swedenell

Grace Meng
Member of Congress

Mark Pocan
Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Eleano H. Noton

Mike Quigley
Member of Congress

Nikema Williams
Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Karleda Flail

Betty McCollum
Member of Congress

Alem of Congress

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Ason Crow Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Take Auchincloss
Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly
Ranking Member
House Committee on
Oversight and Government
Reform

Donald S. Beyer Jr.
Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia
Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress



Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr

Member of Congress

Brittany Petiersen Member of Congress

Jil Tokuda Member of Congress

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier
Member of Congress

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

I ha

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress Paus Dellate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Morgan McGarvey
Member of Congress

Jasmine Crockett
Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Lucy MCBatt

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress Nanette Diaz Barragan

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Becca Balint
Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

Ritchie Ione

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Gabe Amo

Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Suhas Subramanyam Member of Congress Andre Carson
Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis
Member of Congress

Mamie Raskin
Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Julia Brownley
Member of Congress

immy Panetta Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Judy Chu

Member of Congress

Robert J. Menendez Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Yassamin Ansari Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Zerrold Hadler

Mark Jalam MARK TAKANO

MARK TAKANO Member of Congress

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean
Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress

Timothy M. Kennedy
Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

red W. Lien