## Congress of the United States

House of Representatives Mashington, DC

July 10, 2025

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker U.S. House of Representatives H-232, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Tom Cole Chairman House Committee on Appropriations H-307, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

## **<u>RE: Protect the U.S. Government Accountability Office</u>**

Dear Speaker Johnson and Chairman Cole:

We write to express deep concern regarding the proposed \$396.5 million cut to the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) in the Fiscal Year 2026 (FY26) Legislative Branch Appropriations bill. This unprecedented reduction in funding – nearly 50 percent – would severely diminish GAO's capacity to serve Congress, the federal government, and the American people.

There is strong support – from both lawmakers and the public – for making government more efficient, effective, and accountable – and reducing waste, fraud, and abuse. But these goals cannot be met by decimating the very agency that helps identify and address inefficiencies in government. The GAO is a trusted, nonpartisan watchdog, and the results speak for themselves. Since 2002, GAO's oversight has resulted in \$1.45 trillion in financial benefits to the federal government, including \$67.5 billion just last year.<sup>1</sup>

Cutting GAO's budget in half would significantly weaken its ability to deliver future savings throughout the government. The proposed funding reduction would result in a loss of more than 2,200 expert staff,<sup>2</sup> hamstring critical oversight work, eliminate technical assistance to Congress, and delay or cancel ongoing investigations. Congress should be investing more in GAO's work – not less.

We cannot fight waste, fraud, and abuse by gutting the one agency most responsible for uncovering it. We all want to make government work better – and that requires ensuring the GAO has the resources it needs to continue its work for the American people. As such, we urge you to reverse these cuts to GAO, and work with Members of both parties to preserve full funding going forward.

Sincerely,

ndsman

Greg Landsman Member of Congress

er of Congress

<sup>1</sup> <u>https://www.gao.gov/assets/880/873251.pdf</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> <u>https://punchbowl.news/article/senate/gop-eyes-medicaid-cut-delays</u>

<u>Yvette D. Clarke</u>

Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Cleo Fields

Member of Congress

taramenti

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Oanny d. Pa

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

leano H. Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Katly Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

R. Meclice

Jephifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Hayl Doge

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

llin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Here Gotte

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

Elfreth Sarah Elfreth

Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Taites In

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Panetta

Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

BCLA

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Pauls.tonlo

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

2h K m

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

iams

Member of Congress

Kweisi Mfume

Member of Congress

m

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Émanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress Kansas Third District

Jume

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Jelanie A. Stansbur

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

-1

Julie Johnson Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

ae d)inse?

Debbie Dingell C Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank Johnson, Jr.

Henry C. "Hanky Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

itas

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Lateefah Mmon Member of Congress

Manette Diar Barra

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Derek T. Tran Member of Congress

esus 68

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

mosy Hackhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Tinde J. San

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Maggie Goollonder

Maggie Goodlander Member of Congress

April McClain Delaney

April McClain Delaney Member of Congress

Trank Pallow. 11

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Dave Min

Member of Congress

Gabe Amo

Member of Congress

athan L. Jack

Iember of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Pablo José Hernández

Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

Alles

Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

Tobir X. Kell

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Maxine

Member of Congress

Solines) Un drow

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

eloher

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

MALC 9

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Froy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

Adam Smith

Member of Congress

Mark Jahan

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

unnew L. Lee

Summer L. Lee Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Dana Dalate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

n' Sewell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

udy Chu dv Chu

Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Nellie Pou Member of Congress

LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

James P. Une

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Johana Haycs

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Greg Casar Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Sunas Subramanyani Member of Congress

rea

Al Green Member of Congress

MBI

Sarah McBride Member of Congress

JO.Cll

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Kelly Morison Member of Congress

fatter house

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress