## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Chairman Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations 2358-B Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro
Ranking Member
Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human
Services, Education, and Related Agencies
Committee on Appropriations
1036 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515

July 17, 2025

Dear Chair Aderholt and Ranking Member DeLauro:

As you craft the Fiscal Year 2026 Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and related Agencies appropriations bill, the undersigned Members urge you to maintain funding for the 988 LGBTQ+ Youth Specialized Services within the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Budget.

In 2022, SAMHSA launched the LGBTQ+ youth specialized services as a pilot program in coordination with the broader 988 lifeline. Since its launch, the line has received nearly 1.5 million contacts from LGBTQ+ youth through calls, texts, and online chats<sup>1</sup>. In 2024 alone the LGBTQ+ service served over 600,000 crisis contacts, demonstrating both its necessity and impact<sup>2</sup>.

Suicide is the second leading cause of death among youth aged 10 to 14, and LGBTQ+ young people are four times more likely to attempt suicide than their non-LGBTQ+ peers. It is estimated that one LGBTQ+ young person attempts suicide every 45 seconds<sup>3</sup>.

The LGBTQ+ Youth lifeline was designed to address this higher risk of suicide for this population. When an adolescent reaches out to the LGBTQ+ Youth lifeline, they can access specialized services from somebody who cares, who may have shared experience, understands where they are coming from, and is trained to address the unique situation LGBTQ+ youth may face<sup>4</sup>.

LGBTQ+ identifying youth can face distinct mental health issues rooted in rejection and social discrimination. In fact, of LGBTQ+ youth who reported they slept away from parents or were

 $<sup>\</sup>frac{1}{https://www.npr.org/sections/shots-health-news/2025/06/18/nx-s1-5438405/lgbtq-988-lifeline-samhsa-hhs\#:\sim:text=\%22Just\%20last\%20year\%20alone\%2C\%20approximately.get\%20the\%20the\%20they\%20need.\%22$ 

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cwyqlv7y31go

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> https://www.thetrevorproject.org/resources/article/facts-about-lgbtq-youth-suicide/

<sup>4</sup> https://www.nami.org/nami-news/nami-reacts-to-elimination-of-lgbtq-youth-specialized-services-in-988/

kicked out of the house, 40 percent were abandoned due to their identity and 28 percent of LGBTQ+ youth report experiencing homelessness or housing instability during their lives<sup>5</sup>.

Despite the need, a 2024 study demonstrated that 50 percent of LGBTQ+ youth who wanted mental health care in the previous year were unable to access it<sup>6</sup>. More than 80 percent say it is important that crisis services include a specific focus on LGBTQ+ youth<sup>7</sup>.

In the midst of a youth mental health crisis, we cannot afford to eliminate a critical, life-saving resource for LGBTQ+ youth, who face both higher risks and greater barriers to care. These young people deserve to speak with professionals who are trained and equipped to meet their unique needs.

Please maintain the lifesaving funding for the 988 LGBTQ+ youth specialized services so we can continue to serve LGBTQ+ young people across the country who are at an elevated risk of suicide and mental illness.

Sincerely,

Andrea Salinas

Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko

Member of Congress

Pauls tonle

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

Doris Matsui

Member of Congress

Seth Moulton

Member of Congress

Kaja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> https://www.thetrevorproject.org/research-briefs/homelessness-and-housing-instability-among-lgbtq-youth-feb-2022/

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> https://www.thetrevorproject.org/survey-2024/

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> https://www.thetrevorproject.org/survey-2021/?section=FindingSupport

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II
Member of Congress

Sarah Elfreth
Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

Lasheda flail

Rashida Tlaib
Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Brittany Petiersen Member of Congress

Lateefah Simon
Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress Tinde J. Jaing

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Maxine Dexter Member of Congress

Troy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Andre Carson

Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Javed J Bolden
Fared Golden
Member of Congress

William R. Keating
Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Bornie Water Colema

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernandez Member of Congress Jason Crow

Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia

Member of Congress

Steve Cohen

Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene

Member of Congress

Mark Takano

Member of Congress

Mark Jahan

Jamie Raskin

Member of Congress

Darren Soto

Member of Congress

Maggie Goodlander Member of Congress

Becca Balint

Member of Congress

Ritchie Torres

Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher

Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly

Eric Sorensen
Member of Congress

Jernifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress Angie Craig
Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Judy Chu Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Shomari Figures
Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Greg Landsman Member of Congress

Joyce Beatty
Member of Congress

Emily Randall
Member of Congress

Cleo Fields
Member of Congress

Sunas Subramanyam Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress Sarah McBride Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

J**M** Tokuda

Member of Congress

N Tokula

Kim Schrier, M.D.
Member of Congress

Greg Stanton

Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Member of Congress

Jana Friedra Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

pulle 5. pm Janelle S. Bynum Member of Congress

Derek T. Tran Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

George Latimer
Member of Congress

ed W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

Julie Johnson Member of Congress

Al Green

Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

tarament

John Garamendi

Member of Congress

Katly Castor

Kathy Castor

Member of Congress

Sam T. Liccardo Member of Congress

im Himes

Member of Congress

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Rick Larsen