Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

April 11, 2025

The Honorable Lee Zeldin Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Ave NW Washington, DC 20460

Dear Administrator Zeldin,

We are writing to request a comprehensive list of companies that have requested a Presidential Exemption under the Clean Air Act, as outlined by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) on March 24, 2025.¹ Given the EPA's mission to protect human health and the environment, the Administration's expressed commitment to transparency²³⁴, and your own written and oral testimony to the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee during your confirmation hearing⁵, we believe it is imperative that the EPA disclose which companies are seeking to circumvent current environmental regulations.

We request that you expeditiously provide the names of all companies that requested a presidential exemption under the Clean Air Act and the details of their exemption request, including 1) any emissions standards or limitations subject to the request, facility(ies) and/or affected sources, 2) the length of compliance period being requested, 3) their explanation why the technology to implement the standard is not available, and 4) their explanation why an extension is in the national security interests of the United States. Please also include which of these companies, if any, expressed an intention to submit proprietary information.

We would also like to know how your agency plans to evaluate and announce which companies are granted a presidential exemption and which applied but are denied. We expect all of this information to be made easily available to the public, as the Trump Administration repeatedly states that it is the "most transparent administration in history."

Please respond to the above requests for information and documents by no later than April 18, 2025. We appreciate your attention to this critical issue of transparency and look forward to receiving the information about the corporations seeking to be exempted from the rules and regulations of the Clean Air Act.

Sincerely,

Steve Cohen

Member of Congress

tere Cohen

Edward J. Markey

United States Senator

¹ https://www.epa.gov/stationary-sources-air-pollution/clean-air-act-section-112-presidential-exemption-information

² https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefings-statements/2025/01/press-briefing-by-press-secretary-karoline-leavitt/

³ https://www.whitehouse.gov/remarks/2025/02/press-briefing-by-press-secretary-karoline-leavitt-deputy-chief-of-staff-stephen-miller-national-economic-council-director-kevin-hassett-and-national-security-advisor-mike-waltz/

⁴ https://www.whitehouse.gov/articles/2025/02/sunday-shows-most-transparent-administration-in-history/

 $^{^{5} \, \}underline{\text{https://www.epw.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/2025/1/hearing-on-the-nomination-of-the-honorable-lee-m-zeldin-to-be-administrator-of-the-environmental-protection-agency}$

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Mike Quigley
Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Mike Levin

Member of Congress

Troy A. Carter, Sr.
Member of Congress

Andre Carson

Member of Congress

Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Martin Heinrich United States Senator

Ron Wyden
United States Senator

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress John Garamendi Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Jana Friedr

Lasheda flail

Laura Friedman Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez
Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

Melanie Stansbury
Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Maxine Waters
Member of Congress

Maxine Waters

Cleo Fields
Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress Maxine Dexter
Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

Ferrold Nadler
Member of Congress

Ritchie Torres
Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D.
Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress Bornie Work and rlema

Paux Dollate

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Diana DeGette

Member of Congress

Janelle S. Bynum Member of Congress

Jiji Tokuda

Member of Congress

V Tokula

Summer L. Lee Member of Congress

onathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress Bradley Scott Schneider
Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Yassamin Ansari Member of Congress

David Scott Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

MARK TAKANO

Member of Congress

Mark Jakan

The Km

Kevin Mullin

Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross

Member of Congress