Washington, DC – Today, Congresswoman Julia Brownley (D-CA) joined Congressman Mike Ezell (R-MS) in introducing a resolution marking the 82nd anniversary of the establishment of the United States Naval Construction Force, more commonly known as the “Seabees.” The resolution recognizes the tremendous sacrifices and contributions of the Seabees, who have fought and served on behalf of our country. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) and Senator Roger Wicker (R-MS) introduced the companion legislation in the United States Senate.  

“On the 82nd anniversary of the founding of the Navy Seabees, we acknowledge the thousands of service members – past and present – who have bravely defended our shores in every conflict since World War II. With a ‘Can Do’ motto, the Seabees carry out a mission to build bases, roadways, airstrips, and other essential infrastructure necessary for our military at home and around the world,” said Congresswoman Brownley. “As the proud representative of Naval Base Ventura County and home of the Pacific Seabees, I am honored to recognize and pay tribute to these remarkable sailors and their distinguished service to our country.”

“For more than eight decades, the Seabees have served with honor, ingenuity, and a “Can Do” attitude,” said Congressman Ezell. “I am proud to have the Atlantic fleet Seabees call South Mississippi home, and I am incredibly grateful for their contributions to our nation and to our coastal communities.”

“The remarkable history of the Seabees began right here in Rhode Island,” said Senator Whitehouse. “This resolution highlights the many contributions of the industrious Seabees in service to our country, and recognizes the role the Ocean State has played along the way.”

“The Seabees are an integral part of Mississippi’s military history and Gulfport’s community. They have often put themselves into dire situations, whether assisting with natural disaster recovery or humanitarian missions across the globe. Our country and world are better off because of them,” said Senator Wicker.

The resolution is also cosponsored by Representatives Seth Magaziner (D-RI), Gabe Amo (D-RI), Michael Guest (R-MS), Trent Kelly (R-MS), Nick Lalota (R-NY), Carlos A. Giménez (R-FL), Jill Tokuda (D-HI), Salud Carbajal (D-CA), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Mark Takano (D-CA), John Rutherford (R-FL), Adam Schiff (D-CA), and Bennie Thompson (D-MS), as well as Senators Jack Reed (D-RI) and Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS).

The full text of the resolution can be found here


Issues: , ,